15 Questions: Nico Badet

Back to the original ‘no pictures style’ with this one. Here we have the French street master Nico Badet. I’m sure that there isn’t anyone who doesn’t know how this cat rides but just in case check out his ‘Bros lost clipsss’ section on the YouTube for some sweet sweet street riding in the pegless style.

There’s some great answers in this one…enjoy

 

1. Name and age and years riding?

NICO BaDBaD BADET / 14 years of riding

2. Why do you ride and how does riding make you feel? i.e. What motivates you to keep getting up after all the times we fall on the harsh concrete.

I ride coz I need it. I’m pretty agitated so when I ride it makes me feel chill and focus, kind of yoga. I guess it motivates me to improve myself! it’s only pleasure when I remember I wasn’t able to do a trick the previous week and now I get it! I forgot all the crashes eventually.

3. Any martial art that ends in ‘do’ i.e. Judo, Aikido, Kendo, originally was considered a path for enhancing the body, mind and spirit. Do you think riding could fit into this idea of a ‘do’ form?

No I’m too freestyle for these academic disciplines! but yes riding could fit into “do form”!

4. How often do you push yourself past your mental barriers? Do you think that this is an important aspect of riding?

Oh yeah 100% ! I think the most important aspect of riding is all about being proud of yourself! And that’s the feeling I get when I push myself over discomfort.

5. What matters to you, trick progression or how things feel? Is progression of technique important to you? i.e. getting a move down every time so it feels natural.

Both! I love to execute a trick perfectly but it’s so damn cool to learn a new one to get it perfectly again!

6. If you’re filming a clip would you use the clip that felt good in the moment or the one that looked best when you look at the footage even if it felt awkward?

It’s more about the feeling coz you could film my shittiest trick and make it looks cool so it’s more about how I felt.

7. Is the history of street riding and it’s forefathers important to you? If yes, why?

Yes for sure coz you can’t just ride and do some tricks! U have to know who did this one coz he probably did some other stuff you’re gonna like. I mean for me it’s artistic! some group of tricks are directly issued from particular personalities.

8. What/who, if any, are your influences?

I have 2000’ influences focusing on the style and flow. Dirt, Park, then street.

9. What do you feel the difference is between riding in the day and night apart from the obvious?

During the night it’s freer from the security but during the night everybody is drunk and fucked.During the day it’s funny to see how the everyday common people life could be boring and enjoying mine becomes way easier witnessing that.

10. How are you aware of your surroundings when out riding? i.e. Architecture, vibes of different areas, people etc.

I fuckin’ love it it’s the real TV show to see people around the spot I mean in France Paris most of the craziest spots are in the hood and everybody is afraid to go over there coz through TV they are the worst people but when you have the opportunity to hang out with them it’s totally different when you stop being afraid.

11. What is your favourite city/town to ride? And why?

Hum, it’s not really about the city it’s more about the people. I’m shy sometimes so when I’m with my mates I can make all my shitty jokes and saying bullshit and that’s what I like. I can ride everywhere, wood, hood, palace I don’t care lol.

12. What kind of spots do you look for or do you just ride what you come across? What are your views on ‘non-spots’?

Like I said, I like to ride everything and especially when U don’t imagine a spot I like to prove there is a way to ride it.

13. How/Why do you choose the products that your bike consists of?

I’m maniac concerning bars and grips coz it’s the first thing I touch and see on my bike and also my sprocket with its double guard.

14. How do you feel at the end of a ride?

I feel happy and ready to put a smile on the faces of my entourage.

15. Anything else you’d like to add?

Thanks for your patience, It took me quite a while to answer this great interview! Thanks everybody around me coz it’s important to be supported by your people! Thank U BMX!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑